Why I Started On My Fit Journey

For a long time, I had no idea whatsoever what size bra I should be in. All through middle and high school I pretty much wore whatever bras seemed to fit best (and that I/my parents could afford) in the 34-36 B-C range. None of them seemed perfect, but at the time I figured that was as good as it was ever going to get. Knowing what I know now, I should have been in a much smaller band. Possibly a larger cup, too, but definitely a smaller band, being as I currently weigh at least 20 pounds more than I did at my heaviest in high school.

During college, I gained about 20 pounds. After college, I gained a lot more through a combination of medication side effects and just not eating properly. By the time I met my husband I weighed about 200 lbs. Then I got pregnant. During that pregnancy I hit my all time highest weight, just under 230 lbs. I lost about 25 of those before I got pregnant with my son, and I’ve lost about 40 more since. Which is nice and all, but my main reason for describing all of this is that it all affected my bra size. When I gain weight, my boobs gain weight. When I lose weight, my boobs lose weight. When I’m pregnant, my boobs balloon up. When I was breastfeeding they ballooned up even more, and when I finished breastfeeding they shrank considerably. They sagged. All of this has left me with completely different breasts than I hd 10 years ago, and I had absolutely no clue throughout any of it what size bra I needed. I just bought bras by the “it doesn’t hurt and it seems to be containing the funbags” method. I would guess that I’ve worn every size permutation possible in the 32-40 B-DD range at some point in my life.

I had been idly thinking that I should go to a reputable store and getting fitted for the past few years, but I just never got around to it. As I mentioned in the previous post, something or another I was reading online (probably a feminist blog) led me to a post on some blog about bra fitting. And that led me to another. And another. And dozens more. So I measured myself using the methods I read about (basically using the raw underbust measurement as a band size, and the difference from bust minus underbust as the cup size, as seen here  . The size I came up with? 34DDD/E.

I’ve got to be honest, here. I laughed. A lot. At the time I was wearing 36B’s and C’s. And I had thought they were too big! I thought that bras that fit like these

Meh.

Meh.


Nope.

Nope.


Nope! Nope, nope, nope! Definitely not!

Nope! Nope, nope, nope! Definitely not!

were just the best that would ever get. I thought the problem was my boobs, not my bra. So I was buying, again, “it doesn’t hurt and it seems to be containing the funbags” bras, and buying them as cheaply as I could find them, because they never lasted very long, and they didn’t fit any better than expensive 36B’s, anyway.

I didn’t do anything else for a week or so. Well, I read some more bra blogs, but I read them skeptically, and with much scoffing. Plus, all of the new information I was reading was a little overwhelming. Still is, sometimes. There are a lot of new terms and scads of new information, especially for someone like me with no design background and very little technical interest in clothing of any sort.  Then one day I was at Ross, looking for back-to-school clothes for my daughter when I happened across a 34DD (a Wacoal Reveal T-Shirt bra, to be specific) and I tried it on, just for shits and giggles. Yep, it fit. Not perfectly (I hope to review that exact bra at a later date. ETA: I reviewed it!), but considerably better than anything else I owned. Probably better than anything I’ve ever owned, at least since I was a teenager with smaller, perkier boobs that didn’t look as bad in an ill-fitting bra.

I went home and re-read all of those blogs that I had scoffed at earlier. And I found even more of them. I’ve learned a lot, and I’m still learning. And it’s really fun.

Leave a Reply

