Bigger Bras Aren’t Sexy?

“I’m too fat to wear pretty bras!”
“No one makes any cute bras in my size!”
“With boobs this big I HAVE to wear a minimizer!”
“The only bras that fit me are hideous!”
“I cannot be above a D cup! Do they even make those?!? I’m just gonna go live in a cave.”

Women are really good at hating their bodies. And society is really good at helping them do so. Sorry to tell you this, unhealthy-societal-pressures-that-make-women-hate-their-bodies, but none of those statements up there are true.

The misconception that any bras outside of the “common” range are ugly is something I run across a lot. I used to think that, too. For one, I was buying bras at stores that only seemed to carry sizes from 32A to about 40DD. And at pretty much all of those stores, the larger cup sizes are only available with larger bands. Until a few months ago I honestly had no idea that anyone made a 32DDD, let alone a size like, say, 28K. In addition to the woefully small representation of different sizes at major retailers, a lot of the larger cup bras looked like, well, this:

image from Macys.com

image from Macys.com


That’s a Playtex 18-Hour Front Close bra. I’m sure there are women that love them and swear by the fit. That’s great, but that’s not really a bra that screams “sex appeal.”

I spent the better part of my bra-wearing life assuming that once you hit a certain size, that was what you were stuck with. An 18-hour bra or a minimizer. Or both. Either way, something that came in a box. Also, let’s look at the size range on this bra: 36-46 B-DD. Not exactly a wide range. That’s 24 sizes. Compare that to Curvy Kate, a company that offers bras from 28-40 D-K. That’s a UK K; in US sizing, that’s an O. That’s 84 different sizes. And they’re still missing some on the higher end.

The problem is, I hadn’t heard of Curvy Kate until this year. Or Freya. Or Panache. Or dozens of other great companies that are making bras in a fantastically huge range of sizes and styles. And I would venture that there are a lot of other women in the same boat that I was in. Some of them might be reading this blog. Hopefully, some of them are measuring themselves (or seeking a professional fitting) to find their correct size. Odds are, a lot of those women are coming up with a size that’s making them think “Oh my god, I’m going to be stuck in granny bras!” So today I want to post some pictures of what I would consider pretty damn sexy bras in the hopes of allaying some of that uneasiness.

image from panache.com

image from panache-lingerie.com


This is the Masquerade Rhea. The item description reads “a classic and timeless bandeau bra by Masquerade lingerie made to be seen and give your bust a va va voom lift!” From the reviews I’ve read, the Rhea lives up to that. And it’s available in sizes 28-38 D-H.

image from curvykate.com

image from curvykate.com


Curvy Kate Tease Me in purple/ivory. Great colors, great embellishments, definitely not boring. Plus, the undies with the garters? Hot! Available in 28-30 D-J, 32 D-HH, 34 D-H, 36 D-GG, 38 D-G.

image from elomilingerie.com

image from elomilingerie.com


Okay, it’s technically a basque, not a bra. Sue me. This is the Elomi Maria. I really like this one. Very burlesque-y. Elomi is a “fuller figured” brand, so this is available for larger band sizes than the others on this list. This little number is available in 32 DD-HH, 34-40 D-HH, 42 D-H, 44 D-G, 46 D-F, and 48 D-E.

FF_BRA_WASPIE_F2_350_350
Gossard Femme Fatale Collection. The bra shown in this picture is the non-padded plunge, and its available in 30-38 D-G, 40 D-FF, 42 D-F, and 44 D-E. This is definitely not a “granny bra!”

image from figleaves.com

image from figleaves.com


Last but not least, the Figleaves Essentials Seamfree Non Padded Lace Wing Bra. Great color (and it’s available in 6 others, too), great detailing, and the best part? This is considered more of an everyday, tee-shirt bra AND it’s a Figleaves house brand, so it’s only $35! Awesome! Sizes are 30 D-G, 32-34 D-FF, and 36-38 D-G.

2 thoughts on “Bigger Bras Aren’t Sexy?

  1. In addition to the issues with most standard manufacturers not supplying larger sizes, I want to add that the fuller-bust brands aren’t always the best marketers of their products. They rely more retailers to promote the brands, and a little cumulative brand awareness would be nice. If more people knew Panache, or Freya, or Elomi, etc. existed, then they would also know the cup size alphabet did not stop at DDD. Hopefully in the future, they’ll be a greater presence of these bras across many retailing platforms! 🙂

    • Yeah, the relying on retailers thing can’t be working well for them. Especially when most (I’m guessing, but I could be wrong) of the retailers are online stores.

      In my area, there just aren’t any brick and mortar retailers for those bras. I have to drive 2 hours to Nordstrom or lingerie shop that has my size in a style I want.

      There is one independent bra store in my town, but they seem to have fallen victim to the same thing big retailers have: “smaller band=smaller cup.” I mean, I’m a 32E and I’m practically sized out of their stock. They only have 3 or so bras in my size, and they’re Wacoals that are a bit too plunge-looking for me.

      I had a point here…oh yeah! With advertising being crazy expensive, I’m sure that small businesses that sell these brands are just flat unable to build the kind of brand awareness that these brands should have. The brands themselves need to step that up.

Leave a Reply

