Curvy Kate Thrill Me Review

Curvy Kate Thrill Me 30F

Curvy Kate Thrill Me 30F

Almost, man. Almost. I think Curvy Kate will be a great brand for me once I lock down the right size and/or style. I’m having a rough time with the Showgirl bras. You might remember that I reviewed the Tempt Me in a 30FF, and that had a too-wide gore, and maybe, possibly a too-large cup. I decided to try out the Thrill Me in a 30F. I went ahead on the smaller cup just in case part of the problem with the Tempt Me was in fact the cup size. Plus the measurements for the 30F seemed good. But I think maybe I should have stuck with FF, because I’m spilling out a bit. This could be an error in sizing on my part. Or it could be due to the seriously shallow cups. Seriously. If you don’t have shallow breasts, you should probably give this one a pass.

wpid-IMG_20131010_012346.jpg

There’s the close-up. It looks fine. Great, actually. I’m totally keeping it. Even with the cup issue I love this bra. It’s so pretty. I have cleavage. And the ruffle at the top of the cup masks the quadboob situation quite nicely. Plus, like the Tempt Me, this is a remarkably comfortable bra. The band and the (fully adjustable) straps are a nice width, and the padding inside the cup is sooooo soft.

wpid-IMG_20131010_012249.jpg

Band fit is perfect.

wpid-IMG_20131010_011705.jpg

You can see from the side that the wire encompasses my breast tissue almost perfectly, though I do wish the wire came up just a little bit higher. I also feel like the shape I’m getting is a bit…odd. Sort of flattened, like I’m pressed up against a window at a weird sideways angle. It seems like it would be a better shape if my breasts weren’t straining so much against the fabric. I just want to remind everyone I’m not an expert. You guys are all on this bra fitting journey with me here. And since I’m not an expert, I want to reiterate that I’m not sure if this is a “wrong size” problem or a “too shallow cup” problem.

I’m also including a shot of me leaning over slightly to illustrate that I am, in fact, spilling out of the cup:

wpid-IMG_20131010_012418.jpg

Like I said above, the ruffle does a great job of hiding it, which I actually consider a mark in the Thrill Me’s favor. See, one of my breasts is a bit larger than the other. I usually try to fit my bras to the larger breast and then tighten down the strap on the smaller side, but sometimes,like now, a bra just happens to fit better on the smaller boob. With the ruffle hiding the overflow that’s not as big of a problem as it sometimes is.

The last point I want to make is that some people might want to reserve the Thrill Me as just a bedroom bra (ifyaknowwhatimean, wink wink, nudge nudge) as opposed to an every day kind of bra. Because of the ruffle and ribbon on the cup, it can be pretty visible under clothing. It’s not very bad under thicker shirts, but it is still noticeable.

sweater from Old Navy

sweater from Old Navy

I’m not terribly bothered by it; I assume that other people are aware that I’m probably wearing a bra. Just something to be aware of if it makes you uncomfortable to have visible bra lines.

Where can I buy this?
Once again, this bra is discontinued. I know, I’m sorry. It’s like The Cheap Girls Guide to Outdated Lingerie around here sometimes. But the Thrill Me is still available for purchase in limited sizes* and colors. Here are some of the places you can still find it:

Bravissimo
Brastop
Amazon

I also saw some on eBay recently, so try looking there, too. Just a tip; make sure to search other countries. A lot of the great eBay deals I find are from UK-based sellers.

I want a second opinion!

Reviews from other bloggers:

Busts4Justice

Bras I Love and Hate

Voluptuous and Beautiful

*Curvy Kate released the Thrill Me in 28-30 D-J, 32 D-HH, 34 D-H, 36 D-GG, 38 D-G.

One thought on “Curvy Kate Thrill Me Review

  1. Pingback: Curvy Kate Tease Me Review | Filling A Niche

Leave a Reply

