Something Else Sundays…er, Monday: Scary Movies

Since it’s almost Halloween, I was going to write a more in-depth post on my favorite scary movies. You know…plot summaries, characters, themes, what I like about them…that kinda stuff. But I still don’t feel good. And we had a pretty busy weekend here.  And during all of the downtime we had my kids basically hijacked my phone, which I compose a majority of posts on (because they also hijack the computer most of the time.) So I’m just making a pretty basic list.

Okay, it’s a top 10 list, but consider 10 through 4 to be in no particular order. I could probably name 100 horror movies that I love and spend weeks and weeks figuring out a ranking system. But neither you nor I have time for that.

10. Hellraiser. But not the sequels.  That franchise got stale fast.

How much do I love Pinhead? So much!

How much do I love Pinhead? So much!

9. Night of the Living Dead for obvious zombie-related reasons.

Are little girl zombies the scariest? Yes.

Are little girl zombies the scariest? Yes.

8.Tales From The Crypt: Demon Knight. This one is just fun. I make no apologies for loving it.

Billy Zane smooching on little baby demons? Hilarious. Are all of the captions going to be in question and answer form? Maybe.

Billy Zane smooching on little baby demons? Hilarious. Are all of the captions going to be in question and answer form? Maybe.

7. The Shining (1980)  I’m a pretty big Stephen King fan, which I think means that I’m supposed to be really mad about Kubrick’s adaptation…but I like it.

Ah, Kubrick's Wendy...she kind of gets on my nerves too, Jack.

Ah, Kubrick’s Wendy…she kind of gets on my nerves too, Jack.

6. Jenifer (Masters of Horror season 1 ep. 4) Ok, not a feature film, but close enough. Mad respect for Steven Weber (yes, the guy from Wings) as an actor and as a writer.

I...don't really have anything to say here...

I…don’t really have anything to say here…

5. The People Under The. Stairs It’s a ridiculous movie. I know that. But c’mon. Everett McGill and Wendy Robie from Twin Peaks as the villians? Ving Rhames? What’s not to like?

These people were hilarious/terrifying before I even saw Twin Peaks.

These people were hilarious/terrifying before I even saw Twin Peaks.

4. American Psycho. This is some dark, dark humor. And I love it. Plus it was directed by a woman (Mary Harron), and the screenplay was co-written by two women (Mary Harron and Guinevere Turner) which is awesome.

Ah, my favorite scene...besides the one with the Ed Gein joke...

Ah, my favorite scene…besides the one with the Ed Gein joke…

****The above was in no particular order; the next three are.****

3. Evil Dead (2013) Yeah, the remake. Yeah, I know that’s horror-movie-fan sacrilege.  But this one was my introduction to the Evil Dead franchise (I know, I know) and it scared the living shit out of me. Like, I almost had a panic attack in the theater. There aren’t many movies that actually scare me. So that’s a big deal.

Look at that! That doesn't creep you the f out???

Look at that! That doesn’t creep you the f out???

2. The Devil’s Rejects. To be honest, I don’t particularly care for House of 1000 Corpses. I feel like Rob Zombie was trying too hard. (Though Stephanie Rogers at Bitch Flicks makes a good argument for Baby’s character as a feminist statement, which is pretty cool.) Rejects, though?  Rejects is a masterpiece.

I'm not even gonna lie; sometimes I cry at the end of this movie.

I’m not even gonna lie; sometimes I cry at the end of this movie.No, I don’t know what the hell is wrong with me.

1. The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974). And all of the sequels and remakes.  Especially Part 2, with Dennis Hopper. Hell, I’ll even watch that nonsensical 1994 remake starring Matthew McConaughey and Renee Zellwegger.

YAY! (I have problems...)

YAY! (I have problems…)


Oh, hey! Do you like reading reviews of horror movies from a feminist perspective?  Me, too! Check out more Bitch Flicks.

So, good list? Terrible list? What’s your favorite scary movie?

Leave a Reply

