Curvy Kate Tease Me Review

Damn Curvy Kate and their beautiful bras!

Damn Curvy Kate and their beautiful bras!

I just don’t know when to quit. I said that I was happy enough with the Thrill Me. And I was, I really, really was. At least I was happy with it until I saw a Bratabase listing offering a 32F Tease Me in exchange for a 30F Curvy Kate Showgirl. That’s when my mind started going “what if?” What if going up a cup size in a balcony style Showgirl locks down the right fit? See, the Tease Me is the only CK Showgirl bra that I haven’t tried yet. The 30FF Tempt Me seemed basically okay in the cups but the plunge style wasn’t working out. I traded that for the 30F Thrill Me, which ended up being just a smidgen too small. I really hoped that the Tease Me would be my “baby bear’s bed” of the Showgirl collection. Is it?

32 F Curvy Kate Tease Me in coral/black

32 F Curvy Kate Tease Me in in coral/black

From the front it looks great. It’s so beautiful. The coral/black is one of my favorite colorways for this bra. The lace overlay is gorgeous. I love the almost obnoxiously oversized bows where the strap meets the cup. I also love the fully adjustable straps, and I love how wide they are. A lot of “sexy” bras are designed with a slim strap, but the wider one of here is so supportive and it doesn’t take away from the beauty of the bra. The underwire is just about the right size. Maybe a little wider than I need, but not outrageously so. I have the band hooked on the second set of hooks which is not optimal, but I expected that. The 30 bands on the Thrill Me and Tempt me were almost too snug, but they were perfectly comfortable to wear. I went to a 32 band for this one just because, well, that’s what was there. I’m not counting that as a negative. There are a few problems, though.

wpid-IMG_20131030_215028.jpg

The shape is almost flattened from the side, until that first vertical seam. After that seem it gets a little…buldging. It took me a little bit, but I finally figured out what it is: The cup is too deep for me near the gore. I was not expecting that. The last two Showgirl bras I tried were shallow. Shallow! I’ve seen very few reviews that don’t mention this. And they were shallow all the way across the cup. The Tease Me is…not. I think if the depth of the cup stayed uniform I would have a great rounded shape.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a markedly shallow cupped bra. Like I said in the Thrill Me review, anyone with very projected breasts would do well to stay clear. But there is a little more space near the center, which is probably a great thing for a lot of the people who had trouble with the Thrill Me and Tempt Me, but it’s not awesome for me. Just to verify that too-deep cup is the problem, here’s a look at what happens when I pull on the cup to reduce the depth:

Fotor0103110652

See how much better this bra would be for me with a shallower cup? Nothing is spilling (weirdly) forward, and I get that nice “cakes on a plate” cleavage. ::Sigh:: Apparently CK’s Showgirl bras and I just aren’t meant to be. I’m not giving up on Curvy Kate yet, though. I would still love to get my hands on basically any other bra that they make!

There is one last thing I want to mention about this bra. Remember how the ribbon-and-ruffle decoration on the Thrill Me was really, really visible through clothing? The Tease Me is not so much.

I don't know why I'm making that face.

I don’t know why I’m making that face. Also please ignore the cookie dough on the neckline.

Apparently the lace is more easily flattened out by fabric than the ruffle was. So that’s a plus. And even a slightly tight shirt seems to level out that funny shape problem I’m having. I’m planning to stick with the Tease Me…but I’ve said that before. We’ll see.

Where can I buy this?
Discontinued! But still available at many retailers.

Brastop has insanely good prices on this right now. From £5.95-£29, various colors and sizes*.
Figleaves has the black/scarlet available for $45.
Bare Necessities carries blue/ivory and cherry/blush for $43.99

I want a second opinion!

The Tease Me is a very popular bra, so here are lots of other opinions:

Bras I Hate & Love
Miss Underpinnings
A Sophisticated Pair
Invest In Your Chest
Curvy Wordy
Undercover Lingerista

*Curvy Kate and Bratabase both list the Tease Me as available in sizes 28-30 D-J, 32 D-HH, 34 D-H, 36 D-GG, 38 D-G. Figleaves has the black/scarlet available in a 28 JJ, so…?

One thought on “Curvy Kate Tease Me Review

  1. Pingback: Same Bra Woes Two Different Solutions | LoveMsFit

Leave a Reply

