I’m Still Alive!

Hi, you guys! I know I’ve been MIA for a couple of weeks, but I’m back now. Today I have some basic lingerie gifting advice for you, and a preview of some stuff that I’ll be reviewing soon.

If anyone was wondering, it turns out that what I went to the ER for was just a really bad stomach bug. Which is, to be honest, still hanging around (or has exasperated my slight IBS) but I don’t have to live in the bathroom anymore.  So…yay!

The kids and the husband came down with it, too, and then caught a cold as soon as their tummy problems stopped. Which is the main reason I haven’t been blogging. I can write a post just fine if I’m miserable but it becomes nearly impossible with two sick little ones.  The perils of blogging as a stay-at-home mom.

Anyhoo, enough about my health problems (fascinating as they are…). On the bra front, my husband’s Christmas gift to me is two new sets! He gave me a budget and we scoured the Internet to find stuff that we both like. Romantic, no? Unfortunately, the wonderful world of non standardized bra sizes makes it necessary. Even with all of the researching and measuring and whatnot that I do to figure out my size in any given bra I still get it wrong a frustrating percent of the time. I mean, I consider myself to be a 32 E, but only three of the seven or eight bras that I wear are that size. So I didn’t want to leave size selection up to the dude. Then there’s the fact that our tastes in lingerie don’t always match up.

I think compromise is so important in sexy apparel gifting. It’s nice to wear lingerie that your partner likes, yes, but not at the expense of your own comfort. Mental or physical. If I’m wearing a piece that I feel is ugly or unflattering (or too tight, too loose, too scratchy, too revealing, not revealing enough, whatever), then I’m not going to feel confident or sexy. And that’s pretty counterproductive to the, uh, purpose of the gift.

I do have a solution for those of you who want to be more surprised when receiving this type of gift: Make a list! Find a bunch of lingerie that you would like to get, do the size research, write it down, and make the list accessible to potential gift givers.  I really don’t know why I haven’t done this, but I’m going to get cracking on it.

So…what sets am I getting?

image

Parfait Lola balconette and matching hipsters. Lola is from Parfait’s Spring/Summer 2013 line, so I’m catching it at the end of it’s availability. It was a bit of a hunt, but it is still available from Beautyfull Bras and Amazon.

image

image from herroom.com

Another set from Parfait. This is the Donna, which was available in several colors from 2011-SS2013. I don’t see it anywhere on Parfait’s website so I guess it’s been discontinued. Which explains why we found this set at a deep discount on eBay. Donna is still available through several retailers, including HerRoom.

I’ll review these sets as soon as possible! In the meantime, look out for a back-on-schedule Something Else Sunday tomorrow and a Holiday Edition Wishlist Wednesday next week.

Leave a Reply

