Something Else Sunday: Minecraft And My Daughter

Today in Things That Have Nothing To Do With Bras, I just want to brag about my little girl. Because I can. I don’t talk about my children too much on the blog because of general security concerns. And, well, basically I don’t want their online images to be heavily associated with a lingerie blog. But both of my children are a huge part of my life and I love them more than anything, so occasionally bragging is in order.

There she is, standing dramatically in the rain. Yeah, she's a monkey.

There she is, standing dramatically in the rain. Yeah, she’s a monkey.


My little girl is five years old. She’s amazing. She’s smart, she’s beautiful, she’s all of the good adjectives. And a few of the debatably bad ones, too. She’s a kid. Two of my favorite things about her are her creativity and her artistic ability. I’m not going to ramble on about how she’s some sort of prodigy; she isn’t. But her skills in those areas have already surpassed both of her parents (especially me) and it’s so wonderful to watch. It’s one of those things that really hammers home that I made a tiny little individual person. Duh, I know, but I am continually astounded by the entire concept.

All armored up.

All armored up.

Her favorite thing in the whole world right now is playing Minecraft. Which means that the two-year Lightning McQueen love fest is finally waning, thank god. My husband introduced her to his Minecraft world when she was a very, very young and about 18 months ago she really started to get into it on her own. She has several of her own worlds. Her daddy built them their very own server to play on. The whole punishment/reward part of parenting her is build almost solely around Minecraft. Hell, we basically used it to potty train the kid. Lately she’s been watching a lot of other people’s videos online and learning to build all kinds of wonderful new things in her virtual worlds.

Hot Air Balloon

Hot Air Balloon

This is her puppy store. The tail is a stairway to the entrance.

This is her puppy store. The tail is a stairway to the entrance.

She made Spongebob, you guys! Copied it from a video, but still...

She made Spongebob, you guys! Copied it from a video, but still…

Rainbow. This took her all day. At least she's learning patience.

Rainbow. This took her all day. At least she’s learning patience.

Sometimes she plays with her daddy and his friends in the big people world. They handle most of the important building, she handles making playgrounds and setting up dinner parties. With cake!

Oh, hey, speaking of Minecraft and the people my daughter plays with! A friend of ours designed a Minecraft shirt, and it’s available for purchase from threadless. If you like Minecraft and/or tee shirts, you should totally give him your money!

Boom! Look at that!

Boom! Look at that!

Leave a Reply

