Wishlist Wednesday: Purple!

Happy New Year! I’m super excited for 2014! Want to know one of the reasons why?

image from thelingeriejournal.com

image from thelingeriejournal.com

Because Affinitas/Parfait gave The Lingerie Journal a sneak peek of their AW14 line, and this beauty is in there! Purple Charlotte, you guys! I’m so buying that!

Purple is a funny color for me. I like purple, but I’m very, very picky about it. It’s not even a matter of liking some shades better than others, though I tend to prefer darker purples (but not always.) I don’t have an art or design background to draw from to explain myself articulately here, but I guess I need the color and design to work together in some mysterious way. For instance, Parfait’s Danielle (AW13) looks fairly similar to the upcoming Charlotte, colorwise, but it just doesn’t speak to me.

image

image from affinitasintimates.com

Again, it’s not the design; I rather like the “dusty rose” version of this set. And it’s not the color; this is a color I like and I know looks good on me. It’s something about the way that the color and the design work together that unfortunately falls flat for me.
So what purple bras do I like right now? Here’s three more of them, presented in no order and selected for reasons that I can’t really specify!

image

image from fantasie.com

Fantasie Salsa, in Mulberry for SS14. This is a great color. Feminine, sure, but more of a “grown up” color. Nice to see it from Fantasie, whose designs are cute but sometimes feel too young for me. Too much brightness, I think. This muted deep is refreshing to see, especially for a Spring/Summer line. Bra available in 30-40 D-K, briefs XS-2XL.

Where can I buy this?
Figleaves
I’m here for the reviews!
Erica from A Sophisticated Pair reviews the Salsa in “charcoal” (a color I also like.) Erica does carry some Fantasie bras, so she could possibly order a Salsa, too. And some of the other bras on this list. I dunno. Ask her!

image

image from elomilingerie.com

Elomi’s Bijou in Pansy. I don’t talk about Elomi very much because I’m sized out of their stuff, but I should because they have some really pretty stuff for larger band sizes. The purple color does amazing things here. I’ve seen the Bijou in nude plenty of times, and it’s always struck me as pretty boring. Don’t get me wrong, there are a lot of beige bras that I really like, but this one is “blah.” The Pansy gives a wonderful “pop” to a somewhat run-of-the-mill moulded bra. Bra available in 34 F-H, 36-42 E-H, 44 E-G. Short available in M-4XL.

Where can I buy this?
Elomi lists this design in their “coming soon” section, and I can’t seem to find a release date anywhere…which means no reviews, either. Sweet Nothings wrote a great brand overview, however, if you’d like to learn more about Elomi as a whole. ETA:Sweets has kindly let me know in the comments that Bijou is scheduled for release on March 25!

image

image from largecuplingerie.com

Tutti Rouge Queenie. This one is from the AW13 collection. I’m very interested in Tutti Rouge as a new brand. All of their designs and fabrics are visually interesting, even though (oh god, I hate saying this, everyone loves them) I find a lot of their stuff too cutesy for my personal taste. Just a bit too “lollipops and gumdrops.” Especially the SS13 collection. If your taste runs to cutesy stuff, though, Tutti Rouge does it damn well. The AW13 had more stuff that I actually want to own (I guess I prefer jewel tones to pastels?), and the purple Queenie might be my favorite. Bra available in 28-38 DD-HH, bottoms available in S-XL.

Where can I buy this?
Large Cup Lingerie

I’m here for the reviews!
I can find a lot of bloggers talking about the brand, and I can find a fair amount of Tutti Rouge reviews, but none for Queenie. If you know of any, let me know and I’ll link it!

Want to see more purple bras? Uplift has a slide show of lingerie that comes close to Pantone’s 2014 Color of the Year, Radiant Orchid.

Do you guys have any favorite purple bras? Am I totally weird for being so picky about my purples?

9 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday: Purple!

  1. The purple Charlotte really looks amazing! Unfortunately, the bra does not fit my full on top breasts who also need deep cups (and I’ve tried the Charlotte Padded Bra in several sizes as I so wanted that it fits). 😦

    My favourite purple bra is Marcie in the Bravissimo exclusive colour from Autumn/Winter 2013. I love it!

    BTW, I don’t think you’re weird for being so picky about your purples πŸ˜‰

    • For some reason, I don’t love the purple Marcie. No idea why…there’s that picky thing again! Which is a shame because Marcie is on my “bras to try because it might work with my boobs” mental list. I’m considering the red, though. I like that one.

      • The Marcie is one of my best fitting and favourite bras! I have every colour except the red one but, hey, I will look for it on ebay again (unfortunately, I missed it when it was released for Winter 2012).

  2. What a great collection! I love purple lingerie, and this list actually makes me realize I don’t have a purple bra right now– looks like my wishlist needs an update πŸ™‚ The Elomi Bijou will launch March 25.

  3. I have a favorite purple bra, but it’s my only purple bra. I don’t know if that counts. It’s a Frederick’s something or other that Gabe’s had in my size. I call it my “high performance” bra because if you slap my butt my boobs would jiggle. Fix my sock, jiggle jiggle. Cough? Oh my the jiggling. After this paragraph, it does not count as favorite.
    I love the Elomi. I would very much like to have that. I looks like it would actually fit. Ahh. That would be grand.
    Also, it’s not that weird to be picky about purple. It’s my favorite color and I’m picky about it.

  4. Pingback: Wishlist Wednesday: Neutrals (and my problem with nude) | Filling A Niche

Leave a Reply

