Something Else Sunday: Non-Lingerie Valentine’s Gifts

Woo, am I having some family problems in my personal life! It is stressful, to say the least. I’ll be trying my best to keep up with the blog but if I disappear, I’m handling some stuff that needs handling and I’ll be back ASAP. So, since my personal life is all heavy right now, I want to write a nice, light, fluffy post.

The previous and next (and maybe the one after that…) Wishlist Wednesday posts are all about Valentine’s Day inspired lingerie, but maybe that’s not the type of gift you like to give or receive. No worries! I have lots of ideas for gifts that are still great but appropriate outside of the bedroom.

Vosges Haut Chocolat
This is some fancy candy, you guys. And that means it’s fairly pricey. But it’s totally worth it. They have a whole section on the website featuring Valentine’s Day delights, like The Envoûté Heart Collection ($55).

image from vosgeschocolate.com

image from vosgeschocolate.com

The collection features an assortment of ganache truffles featuring such interesting ingredients as Sicilian pistachio paste, Swiss Absinthe, oyster-infused cream, and edible pearl dust. If you enjoy less adventurous tastes in your chocolate, they have plenty of other stuff. Organic peanut butter bonbons, caramel marshmallows, over 20 different flavors of candy bars (including a Hunger Games collection, I’m so excited!), and a good variety of bacon-flavored candy, among other things. And I’ve always found delivery to be prompt and the packaging to be really nice. My personal favorite from Vosges? The Mash Bill Truffle Collection, which is truffles flavored with whiskey, bourbon, stout, and scotch ($26).

image from vosgeschocolate.com

image from vosgeschocolate.com

Lush Fresh Handmade Cosmetics

Okay, Lush occasionally comes under some fire for the implication that their products are all-natural when not all of their ingredients are. So if all-natural, completely organic bath and body stuff is what you’re looking for, this ain’t it. For more info on that, check out what Eternal*Voyageur has to say at Venusian Glow. I don’t have a huge problem with their choice of ingredients, especially since they don’t do animal testing, but unfortunately I can’t use most of their hair products because of the ingredients. Okay, that’s out of the way!

I’m a sucker for the bath bombs and bubble bars. My absolute, all-time, they-better-never-discontinue-it Lush item is the Sex Bomb Bath Bomb. See, I’m more of a “flower scents” than “fruit scents” kind of gal, and according to my time spent of Fragrantica, I don’t mind strong or even “old lady” scents. And Sex Bomb is strong. It’s like a jasmine explosion. I love it. And oh, hey! It’s included in one of the Valentine’s Day limited edition gift sets, Lots of Love ($52.95)!

image from lushusa.com

image from lushusa.com

And if that’s more than you’re looking to spend, or you don’t like floral scents, there are plenty of other Lush items that might fit the bill. Honey I Washed The Kids Soap ($7.95) is another of my favorites. Smells like toffee with a hint or orange.

Honey I Washed The Kids Soap image from lushusa.com

Honey I Washed The Kids Soap
image from lushusa.com

Unify Soaps
If you like the idea of handmade bath products, and all-natural ingredients are important to you, check out Unify Soaps, made by fellow lingerie blogger Nicole from Fussy Busty! Alright, full disclosure: I haven’t actually tried any of the products yet, though I did, not five minutes ago, place an order for Holiday Spice Soap and a Lavender & Cotton handmade bath bomb. But I’m not just trying to curry favor with Nicole here. I’m actually really, really excited to have found her products because they are made with a whole bunch of natural oils and not much else. I’ve been searching for years for a bar soap (I use Dove right now) that doesn’t dry out my skin and is as additive-free as possible. Based on the listed ingredients, I’m pretty confident that Unify Soaps might be what I’ve been looking for. If soap isn’t an intimate enough Valentine’s Day gift for your love, Unify also makes massage oils in three different scents! For $5 a bottle!

image from Unify Soap

image from Unify Soap

Okay, that’s all for now! Those personal things that I vaguely discussed up there need my attention! If anyone has any other great gift ideas I would love to hear about them in the comments!

One thought on “Something Else Sunday: Non-Lingerie Valentine’s Gifts

  1. I use Unify Soaps. I have a little hoard of four I haven’t tried and an extra of my favorite. The Sleeping Draught I use for my daughter before bed. I have some room spray too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

